By-Election 2018: PTI, PML-N win four NA seats each


The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) were neck and neck in the by-elections for the National Assembly seats after results were announced late Sunday.

The by-polls were held in 35 constituencies of the National and provincial assemblies on Sunday. In the centre both parties bagged four seats each; however, the PTI could not retain NA-131 and NA-35, both of which had been won by Prime Minister Imran Khan in the 2018 general election.

PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique won from NA-131 against PTI’s Humayun Akhtar while MMA’s Zahid Akram Durrani was the successful candidate from NA-35 against PTI’s Nasim Ali Shah. PML-Q’s Moonis Elahi and Chaudhry Salik Hussain won on seats vacated by Chaudhry Pervez Elahi. MMA’s Zahid Akram Khan Durrani from NA-35.

In Punjab, PML-N took home six seats compared to four by the PTI, with independent candidates claiming victory on the remaining two. The PTI won the PP-87 constituency unopposed, while the PML-N was successful on PP-3, PP-22, and PP-118, which were won by the PTI in the 2018 general election.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the PTI won five provincial assembly seats with the ANP winning three and PML-N one seat. The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) comfortably won both Sindh Assembly seats, PS-30 and PS-87, through clear margins. The by-election in Balochistan was won by the Balochistan National Party (BNP) and an independent candidate.

Below is a comprehensive list of unofficial results from the 35 constituencies on which by-elections were held.

Click on the constituency for detailed results:


MMA’s Zahid Akram Durrani won the by-polls with 60,944 votes. PTI’s Nasim Ali Shah followed with 37,489 votes.


PTI’s Ali Nawaz Awan won by-polls in NA-53 by bagging 50,943 votes. PML-N’s Waqar Ahmed stood runner-up with 32,414 votes to his credit.


PML-N’s Malik Sohail Khan won NA-56 by-election with 115,273 votes. PTI’s Malik Khurram Khan stood runner-up with 80,092 votes.


PTI’s Sheikh Rashid Shafique won NA-60 by-election by securing 44,483 votes. PML-N’s Sajjad Khan stood runner-up with 43,836 votes.


PTI’s Mansoor Hayat Khan emerged victorious in NA-63 by-election with 71,782 votes. He was followed by PML-N’s Aqeel Malik who secured 45,490 votes.


PML’s Chaudhry Salik Hussain won the by-polls in NA-65 Chakwal with 98,364 votes. Hussain was followed by TLP’s Mohammad Yaqoob who could only secure 34,811 votes.


PML’s Moonis Elahi won NA-69 by-polls with 65,453 votes, followed by PML-N’s Imran Zafar who bagged 14,767 votes.


PML-N’s Gohar Ali Khan won by-polls in NA-103 with 76,626 votes. PTI’s Mohammad Saadullah stood runner-up with 63,583 votes.


PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi won the by-polls in NA-124 Lahore with 75,012 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Abbasi was followed by PTI’s Ghulam Mohiuddin, who could secure 30,115 votes.


PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique won the most-hyped by-election in NA-131 Lahore by securing 60,352 votes. PTI’s Humayun Akhtar Khan stood runner-up with 50,155 votes.

Rafique had previously lost the seat to PTI chairman Imran Khan in General Election 2018.


PTI’s Alamgir Khan takes lead in NA-243 by-polls with 32,418 votes. Khan is followed by MQM-P’s Amir Chishti, who has so bagged 13,564 votes.


PPP’s Syed Ahmed Raza Shah Jeelani won by-polls in PS-30 with 36,600 votes to his credit. Jeelani was followed by GDA’s Syed Muharram Ali Shah with 21,200 votes.


PPP’s Mohammad Sajid won the by-election in PS-87 with 32,566 votes. Sajid was followed by PTI’s Qadir Bux Khan Gabol who attained 12,341 votes.


Independent candidate Aslam Raisani won the by-election in PB-35 with 14,711 votes. BAP’s Sardar Noor Ahmed stood runner-up with 9,610 votes.


BNP’s Mohammad Akbar won PB-40 by-election with 23,722 votes, followed by independent candidate Mir Shafiqur Rehman Mengal, who secured 14,312 votes.


PML-N’s Iftikhar Ahmed Khan won PP-3 by-polls with 43,259 votes to his credit. PTI’s Muhammad Akbar Khan stood second in the race by securing 43,032 votes.


PML-N’s Nasir Mehmood won the by-election in PP-27 by bagging 61,542 votes. PTI’s Shahnawaz Raja stood runner-up with 60,886 votes.


PTI’s Malik Ahmad Khan elected unopposed.


PML-N’s Jafar Ali won PP-103 by-polls by securing 39,841 votes. He was followed by PTI’s Shamsher Haider who attained 33,209 votes.


Independent candidate Chaudhry Bilal Asghar won PP-118 by-polls with 56,337 votes. Asghar was followed by PTI’s Asad Zaman who secured 50,326 votes.


PML-N’s Sohail Shaukat Butt emerged victorious in PP-164 by-election by securing 34,333 votes. He was followed by PTI’s Yousuf Ali with 26,900 votes.


PML-N’s Malik Saiful Malook Khokhar won by-polls in PP-165 by bagging 28,589 votes, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results. PTI’s Mohammad Mansha Sindhu stood runner-up with 23,149 votes to his credit.


PTI’s Samsam Bukhari won by-polls in PP-201 Sahiwal with 58,280 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Bukhari was followed by PML-N’s Muhammad Tufail, who attained 51,622 votes.


Independent candidate Qasim Abbas Khan won the by-election in PP-222 by bagging 38,327 votes. PTI’s Sohail Ahmed Noon followed Khan with 31,893 votes.


PTI’s Fawaz Ahmed won PP-261 by-election with 29,526 votes. Ahmed was followed by PPP’s Makhdoom Hassan Raza Hashim, who attained 14,995 votes.


PTI’s Zahra Batool won PP-272 by-polls with 2,401 votes. She was followed by independent candidate Syed Haroon Ahmed Sultan.


PML-N’s Sardar Awais Leghari won the by-election in PP-292 by attaining 32,845 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. PTI’s Sardar Maqsood Laghari stood runner-up with 21,938 votes.


PML-N’s Sardar Khan won PK-3 by-polls with 16,824 votes to his credit, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results. PTI’s Sajid Ali stood second in the run with 15,911 votes.


ANP’s Waqar Ahmad Khan won PK-7 by-polls securing 14,096 votes. PTI’s Fazal Maula followed Khan with 13,425 votes.


PTI’s Aqibullah Khan won the by-election in PK-44 with 18,676 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Khan was followed by ANP’s Ghulam Hassan, who secured 17,067 votes.


ANP’s Ahmed Khan won the by-election in PK-53 with 19,065 votes to his credit. PTI’s Muhammad Abdul Salam stood runner-up with 19,044 votes.


PTI’s Mohammad Ibrahim Khattak won PK-61 by-election by attaining 14,557 votes. He was followed by ANP’s Noor Alam Khan with 9,282 votes.


PTI’s Liaquat Khan won the by-election in PK-64 securing 22,775 votes. ANP’s Mohammad Shahid stood runner-up with 9,560 votes.


ANP’s Samar Haroon Bilour won PK-78 by-election by attaining 20,916 votes. PTI’s Muhammad Irfan Abdul Salman followed Bilour with 16,819 votes.


PTI’s Faisal Amin Khan won PK-97 by-election by bagging 18,170 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Khan was followed by PPP’s Farhan Afzal Malik, who secured 7,609 votes.


PTI’s Aghaz Ikramullah Gandapur won by-polls in PK-99 securing 30,330 votes. Independent candidate Fatehullah Khan stood runner-up in the race with 22,825 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here