Pakistan beat Australia for Twenty20 clean sweep


DUBAI: Pakistan downed Australia by 33 runs in the third and final Twenty20 international in Dubai to register a 3-0 whitewash on Sunday.

Pakistan made 150-5 in their 20 overs with Babar Azam (50), Sahibzada Farhan (39), and Mohammad Hafeez (32 not out) their main run scorers.

Mitchell Marsh finished with 2-6.

In reply, Australia were bowled out for 117 in 19.1 overs, with Ben McDermott and Mitchell Marsh scoring 21 each. Spinner Shadab Khan took 3-19.

Pakistan won the first match by 66 runs in Abu Dhabi followed by 11 run victory in the second in Dubai.

Pakistan next faces New Zealand in a three-match T20 series starting October 31. The T20 series will be followed by a three-match one-day international series with matches on November 7, 9 and 11.

The three-match Test series between Pakistan and New Zealand will begin from November 16. The second Test will be played on November 24 and the third and final Test on December 3.


Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Alex Carey, Mitchell Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Umpires: Shozab Raza (PAK) and Rashid Riaz (PAK).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here